STP Civic Engagement Award

The Society for The Teaching of Psychology (Division Two of APA) is pleased to announce the STP Civic Engagement Award. Consistent with our Mission Statement and the Statement on Addressing Systemic Racism and Inequity in STP, we encourage applications from colleagues who are from underrepresented groups and have diverse backgrounds and experiences.

Consistent with APA's Citizen Psychologist initiative, this award recognizes leadership and engagement in applying psychological science to make a difference in communities at the local, national, or global level. This could be done directly through community involvement or indirectly by incorporating civic-engagement pedagogies (e.g., service-learning) into teaching. 

Call for Applications

2021 Award Recipient

Fanli Jia, Chair of the award committee, is pleased to announce that the recipient of STP’s 2021 Civic Engagement Award is Dr. Justina Oliveira, Associate Professor of Psychology at Southern New Hampshire University. Dr. Oliveira’s scholarship focuses on service-learning experiences for students and faculties, partnering community members in I-O Psychology, and assessing students’ learning outcomes in international education. Dr. Oliveira’s commitments to integrating civic engagement into her teaching via service-learning classes, study abroad programs, and global education are highly impressive.

Past Recipients

2021: Justina Oliveira, Southern New Hampshire University
2020: Bethany Fleck Dillen, Metropolitan State University

Call for Applications

Applications will be reviewed by STP’s Civic Engagement Award Committee. Each awardee will receive a plaque, a monetary award of US$1,500, and up to US$1,500 to attend STP's Annual Conference on Teaching  if they do not have travel funds from other sources. The award is open only to STP members. Nominations and self-nominations are welcome.  STP reserves the right not to make an award if the STP Awards Committee believes no applicant is qualified in a particular year.

The deadline for nominations is February 10 of the award year. Applicants will receive notification of award decisions no later than March 1st of the award year. The award recipient will be invited to receive the award during STP’s Annual Conference on Teaching of the award year (typically held in October each year).

Policies regarding STP grant programs can be found here.  

Required documents for nominations/self-nominations:

  • A 2 pages cover letter describing the applicant's contributions and impacts to psychological teaching, advocacy, research, and/or practice which directly benefits the local, national, or global community via civic engagement.
  • A current C.V.
  • Two letters of support that exemplify the applicant's contributions to civic engagement.
All materials must elaborate on perspectives and values added through their civic engagement, and letters of support need to complement the applicant’s contribution. 

Examples of Significant Contributions.

Please note that this is a list of examples, and it is not intended to be exhaustive.

  • Nominees should be able to show their impact on students and/or their community, reflecting a significant commitment to the needs of the local, national and/or global community and/or a long-term commitment to incorporating civic engagement pedagogies (e.g., service learning) into coursework or curriculum.

  • Nominees should have experience working in their community and should have engaged in civic learning in the field through coursework or a degree program both in and out of the classroom.

  • Nominees should have experience with meaningful community partnerships and knowledge-sharing. They should have documented records on the partnership’s impact and be able to share how new information from the partnership can be used for teaching and or scholarship.

For further instructions on how to apply, click here (requires login).

Please contact the Chair of the Committee on Civic Engagement Award (Dr. Fanli Jia) with questions at 

Civic Engagement Award Committee

Fanli Jia (Chair), Seton Hall University, New Jersey

Leah Gensheimer, Avila University, Missouri

Karen Longest, Oklahoma Baptist University, Oklahoma

Maria Mouratidis, Notre Dame of Maryland University, Maryland

Casey Swanson, Plymouth High School, Michigan

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software